Speaker Rendon Shuffles the Committee Chairmanship Deck

Well that didn’t take long.

News broke today that over a dozen committee chairs had changed in the Assembly.

Most notably for our readers, the Committee on Local Government was one of those 13.

The new chair for the Committee on Local Government is Susan Eggman out of the 13th district which contains Stockton. She succeeds Brian Mainschein, from the 77th, San Diego.

Some over notable committees playing musical chairs today include:

  • Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzales (80th-San Diego) got the tap to head up the Appropriations Committee.
  • Phil Y. Ting, Assemblyman representing San Francisco and the 19th, was chosen to lead the Budget Committee.
  • From the 59th, Los Angeles’ Assemblyman Reginald Jones-Sawyer will oversee the Committee on Public Safety.
  • The Committee on Health is in the hands of Jim Wood, representing the 2nd district which runs along the north coast.
  • Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla from Concord and the 14th district got the appointment to the Human Services Committee chair.

You can read more about the changes here.