Newsom Declares Emergency for Six More Counties

A total of 40 counties are now under a state emergency declaration due to heavy winter storms and flooding. Gov. Gavin Newsom added the following six counties to the list on Sunday:  

  • Calaveras
  • Del Norte
  • Glenn
  • Kings
  • San Benito 
  • San Joaquin

Just 18 California counties are now without a declared state of emergency. 

At Newsom’s request, President Joe Biden has also issued a Presidential Emergency Declaration authorizing federal assistance to support California and its localities. 

Tuesday was another day of torrential weather, especially along the central coast. California saw its 11th atmospheric river, resulting in 90 flood watches and advisories. Over 300,000 people are now without power. 

Read the latest here