Five More Communities Designated ‘Prohousing’ by State

Long Beach, Moreno Valley, Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, and the Town of Windsor have been added to a list of 27 “prohousing communities” designated by the State of California.

“Communities that earn the Prohousing Designation receive incentives such as additional points or other preferences in the scoring of competitive funding programs administered by the Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD), giving them an advantage over other jurisdictions,” according to a news release.  

California began bestowing the designations three years ago. The Prohousing Designation Program, established by the 2019-20 Budget Act, is just one tool California is using to meet its goal of building 2.5 million homes by 2030.

California’s 22 other “Prohousing Communities” are:

  • City of Citrus Heights
  • City of El Cerrito
  • City of Emeryville
  • City of Fontana
  • City of Fresno
  • City of Long Beach
  • City of Los Angeles
  • City of Moreno Valley
  • City of Needles
  • City of Oakland
  • County of Placer
  • City of Rancho Cordova
  • City of Redwood City
  • City of Riverside
  • City of Roseville
  • City of Sacramento
  • County of Sacramento
  • City of Salinas
  • City of San Diego
  • City of Santa Rosa
  • County of San Diego
  • County of Sonoma
  • City of Stockton
  • City of Ukiah
  • City of West Sacramento
  • Town of Windsor
  • County of Yuba

Read more about the program here.