Seven Communities Receive “Pro-Housing” Designation from the State

Six cities and one county have been added to a list of “pro-housing” communities, as designated by California’s Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD). They are:

  • Eureka
  • Healdsburg
  • Mountain View
  • Petaluma
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Santa Monica
  • Tulare County

California’s Prohousing Designation Program was established by the 2019-20 Budget Act. It offers a range of incentives for eligible communities that facilitate housing development. These include access to grants and supports. A total of 37 communities have received the designations so far.

Find out what HCD had to say about the seven latest designees here



Wednesday, February 21, 2024 - 10:22

The California Department of Public Health recorded 9,280 new cases of Coccidioidomycosis or “Valley Fever” last month, marking the highest number of cases ever documented by CDPH.


Monday, January 29, 2024 - 11:03

A state appeals court has upheld a decision by the Ventura County Employees’ Retirement Association (VCERA) prohibiting leave cashouts that “straddle” calendar years — a practice that has resulted